A Blog of Epic Proportions

Feminist Superhero: Reloaded

When I was 16 I decided that the only place I could put my budding feminism was a blog. So I started a blog and called it “Student by Day, Feminazi by Night” (I thought I was clever with the spin on the word “feminazi”). I would write long rants about abortion rights and why people who support “pro-life” policies are actually just wingnuts who have a lot of anxiety about women’s sexual freedoms, I would write about the dudes that went to my high school and their attitudes and actions toward the gals that also attended school there. I wrote about how outraged I was when a local police force arrested a rape victim for reporting her rape and then denied her emergency contraception. I have to admit, I thought I was a badass, and sometimes when I look back on my blogging days, I miss it. I had a lot more time for it then, but I really feel like I once again need a place to put my feminism. Shortly after I started the blog, a good friend of mine joined in and we revamped and renamed the effort “Feminists to the Rescue”. It truly was a blog of epic proportions. That carried on for the better part of two years.

I stopped blogging shortly after I hit college. That was probably not such a good idea, but I know why I did it. I had a place to put my feminism. From the get-go I poured all of my energy into my wonderful women’s studies department (the second oldest in the nation, whoowhoo!). I finally had a tangible place for my feminism, and I didn’t need to put it into a blog. I was working on creating and running events to benefit local organizations that fund abortions for low-income women, I was participating in World AIDS Day and Transgender Day of Remembrance events instead of just writing about them. I had finally found a place where I could put my feminism into action instead of words.

So for the three years it took for me to get my bachelor of arts in Women’s Studies, I didn’t blog. I ran VOX meetings and lobbied in DC with Planned Parenthood and got fake-married in support of LGBT marriage rights and helped to found a co-ed multicultural LGBT friendly sorority (Theta Nu Pi, check us out!), the first of it’s kind in the nation (nay, the world?).

Now that time has ended. Now the economy sucks and advocacy jobs like the ones I want are limited and there are people with a lot of experience going after them just as hard as I am, and I have limited ability to move out of my area due to financial restrictions. So my options are even less than what they might be as a brand-spankin’-new college grade with a liberal arts degree.

I don’t have a place for constant feminist outlet anymore.

It’s time for Feminist(s) to the Rescue: Reloaded. I say Feminist(s) because I have made quite a few amazing friends along my way, and I would hope that they might guest blog here at some point. I would love for this blog to become a feminist Justice League roundtable, a place where winning strategies are concocted and victories are celebrated. A place where bitching and the “bitches” who do it are accepted and listened to – taken seriously. A place where the personal is political and the political is changeable.

I need a place for my feminism. A lot of folks need places for their feminisms, too.

I hope Feminist to the Rescue can be the salvation they’re looking for.

2 responses

  1. Yours Truly, Lover

    I guess what it comes down to is this. Your talented. Maybe A femi book should come into the works??

    November 13, 2010 at 9:08 am

  2. Looking forward to reading you again. Welcome back to the blogosphere!

    November 14, 2010 at 7:23 pm

Leave a Reply

