A Blog of Epic Proportions

Candie’s Foundation PSA: Hawkward!


This “Safer-Sex PSA” (I guess you could call it that?) featuring Bristol Palin and Jersey Shore’s “The Situation”. . .is just totally hawkward.

Watch it below:

If I were a teenager that didn’t know anything about safer sex OR abstinence, I don’t think I would have gotten any information about EITHER from this PSA. This PSA is just a big ol’ demonstration in how not to do a safer sex PSA. It’s confusing and filled with too much lingo, although I do think it’s a nifty idea to use The Situation’s fame and name as a pun for consequences of unsafe sexual practices. They had an okay idea, and even incorporating abstinence into the equation is a good plan. The attempt at merging the two worlds of safer sex practices and abstinence, so to speak, was badly executed.

2 responses

  1. inspiredbyafemi

    I woulda wanted to shoot myself in the face if I they said “Situation” one more time. That would have to be the worst PSA I’ve seen in a long time.

    November 21, 2010 at 9:23 pm

  2. Wow. That was mad terrible.

    The problem that I have with Bristol Palin is that she profits off of “how hard it is to be a teen mom.” She gets paid tens of thousands of dollars for photo shoots, and she must have gotten paid for the Dancing with the Stars gig. If I’m a pretty dumb 14-year-old (and most of them are pretty dumb), I’m thinking, “Gee, Bristol had a baby and she’s on TV without the baby all the time. It must not be as hard to be a teen mom as she says it is.” I’m not going to say that her child isn’t taken care of, but if she’s on TV all the time and there’s no kid around, she’s obviously not the one taking care of him. I’d find her decision to abstain and her claim that taking care of her child is difficult more credible if she was taking care of her child instead of dancing on TV.

    November 25, 2010 at 10:26 pm

Leave a Reply

